Tags

,

phase child“It’s just a phase,” she said, as blood oozed from the freshly carved stab wound in his belly. “He’ll grow out of it.”

“A phase?,” he said, gasping just a little. “I’m bleeding to death.”

It was just like him to be so melodramatic, she thought to herself, as she grabbed for the mop. Their son had always been a little, well, let’s call it rambunctious. But he would grow out of it some day. Her husband never had the patience she had, which is perhaps why the son had stabbed the father and not the mother.

“I’m feeling light headed.”

Sigh. There he goes again, she thought. It’s only a flesh wound. Hah, that thought made her smile, the old Monty Python sketch running through her head. She used to love watching that show. Those were the good old days before their son was born when she and her husband used to sit on the couch and follow along with the skits. They knew every line. There was the one with the dead parrot and he used to….

“Hello!!!” She heard his voice from the floor.

“Can you call for an ambulance?” She could barely hear him, his voice was getting faint.

“Okay, fine. I’ll call. But look at the mess you’re making. You know I already spend half my day cleaning up after our son. Do you know how difficult it is to clean up blood? No, and you don’t care, do you?”

“Mom, I’m hungry.”

“Okay, dear. I’ll make you a sandwich after I call a doctor for your father. You know how irritated he gets when you stab him.”

“I know, Mom. Mom, can we go to a movie after the doctor comes for Dad?”

“See, honey. Our son is almost like normal already. I told you it was just a phase. He’s only 30; he’ll grow out of it some day.”

“Honey?” “Are you listening to me?” “Don’t you dare pass out when I’m talking to you.”

David J. Kent is an avid traveler and the author of Lincoln: The Man Who Saved America, in Barnes and Noble now. His previous books include Tesla: The Wizard of Electricity (2013) and Edison: The Inventor of the Modern World (2016) and two e-books: Nikola Tesla: Renewable Energy Ahead of Its Time and Abraham Lincoln and Nikola Tesla: Connected by Fate.

Check out my Goodreads author page. While you’re at it, “Like”my Facebook author page for more updates!

[Daily Post]