Tags

,

Smeagol My Precious Funny ShoesThe writer’s prompt said to write a response to the one-word prompt, “Precious.” I chuckled to myself upon realizing my first thought was of Gollum hissing “My precioussss” in the Lord of the Rings movies.

 

“Curse us and splash us! My precious is lost!”

I can relate to that.

Not that I ever had One Ring to lose, mind you. Neither hobbit nor Sméagol nor golden band, my precious is time.

“Lost! Lost! My Precious is lost!”

Time is the “one ring to rule them all.” We are always searching for it, then wasting its awesome power when we have found it. Our frittering seconds become minutes become hours become years. As a writer, this precious is daunting. We productively procrastinate, using our one ring to do just one more Google search for that critical background. We convince ourselves that a few minutes of Facebooking will build our platform; a few minutes that drag on for hours. We re-edit the first paragraph a dozen times, wanting to get it perfect before going on to the much scarier chore of character and story development.

“We swears to serve the master of the precious. We will swear on the…on the precious.”

Yes, time is our master…a brutal, cynical master that laughs as we squander our precious gift from Chronos. We fight it, embrace it, consume it, and reproach ourselves for neglecting it. We have a love-hate relationship with time, with our precious.

“We wants it. We needs it. Must have the precious.”

Time to write, my precious.

[The above is a response to a one word writing prompt – precious][Daily Post][chaos]

David J. Kent is the author of Tesla: The Wizard of Electricity (Fall River Press) and two e-books: Nikola Tesla: Renewable Energy Ahead of Its Time and Abraham Lincoln and Nikola Tesla: Connected by Fate. His next book is about Thomas Edison, due in Barnes and Noble stores in summer 2016.

 

