Tags

,

Black tearA silhouette, not quite human
Treated, like an animal
A shadow, not a man
Nothing to stop the bloodshed, not bible or quran

Sirens wail, the shadows do the same
Shots ring out, a man fills an urn
Black tears, fall like water
Black lives matter, or not, lambs to a slaughter

A bell is rung, the end, or is it?
When, when will it end…

[The above is in response to the writing prompt that follows my further comments below]

Those who have followed my creative writing and responses to writing prompts will realize the above is a drastic departure for me. I felt this prompt required something different; something that stretched my limits, and poetry is clearly not my normal literary form. Whether I succeeded or not is less important as the stretching exercise itself, though I hope too that readers can see a deeper meaning despite my limitations in expression.

[The full prompt: Write a 100 word or less story or poem about the following theme: Black Tears. Include one or more of the following words: narcissus, tar, shadow, urn, silhouette, bell or cookie. And extra points to anyone who uses all seven words.]

Photo from this page.

David J. Kent is a science traveler and the author of Lincoln: The Man Who Saved America, in Barnes and Noble stores now. His previous books include Tesla: The Wizard of Electricity (2013) and Edison: The Inventor of the Modern World (2016) and two e-books: Nikola Tesla: Renewable Energy Ahead of Its Time and Abraham Lincoln and Nikola Tesla: Connected by Fate.

Check out my Goodreads author page. While you’re at it, “Like” my Facebook author page for more updates!

 

 

[Daily Post]