Tags

,

Sexy womanThe dame was a knockout. An hourglass shape and legs that went all the way from here to there. He could tell she was used to being gawked at, and didn’t mind at all. In fact, he could see she used it to her advantage.

“I would like you to punch my husband,” she said like a soft moan in the night.

“And why would I do that? I’m a detective, not a hit man,” he winked.  

“I saw him with a doll in the haberdashery. The scum is cheating on me.”

“Good enough for me,” he said lustily.

[The above is in response to a prompt to write a 100-word microstory about the theme “people I want to punch in the face.” The story was required to be written either in the sci-fi genre, mystery genre, or the romance genre AND must include the word “haberdashery.”]

Microfiction is a new writing concept me. Thanks to the great folks at Microfiction Madness on Facebook for the idea. The story above comes out to 99 words. Any feedback is welcome.

I should also say that the basic story idea (which either fits the mystery genre or romance genre depending on your point of view), is an homage to the gritty (and overtly sexist) writing of Dashiell Hammett, in part because I just happened to be reading “The Maltese Falcon.”

© David J. Kent 2015

David J. Kent (David K) is the author of Tesla: The Wizard of Electricity and Nikola Tesla: Renewable Energy Ahead of Its Time.