Tags

,

David J Kent - Science TravelerI’m ready, I’m set, I’m…darn, not even close to being done. My “To Do” list has been growing far beyond my ability to keep up with it. This isn’t necessarily a new thing; I’ve always been a lister. I have in the past kept lists of my lists. Thankfully that bit of OCD-ishness has passed, but I do still have multiple to-do lists, most of which don’t seem to ever get done.

It’s my own fault, really. I have a tendency to take on more than I can successfully finish. I had recently been whizzing along, on a roll as the saying goes, but a bit of science traveling completely knocked me off my momentum. Simply catching up on backlogged emails lost me a week of productivity. To this was the unexpected arrival of a series of editing jobs – both ongoing and new clients. And somehow I had managed to sign up for two online courses, both starting this week. Plus the book I had been in queued up on for the last several months suddenly got to my turn at the library; it was take it now or get back in the hundreds long line.

Ah, but that’s just whining now, isn’t it. My to-do list is long because I have a full life. I’m writing (at least two items are magazine articles to produce), I’m traveling (which I hope to write about soon, as soon as I sort through thousands of photos), and I’m active in the local Abraham Lincoln group (big dinner meeting with an author tonight). I have future trips on the calendar for November, another being planned for December, and early inquiries for a couple of big overseas jaunts in 2015.

So I’m not done, and likely won’t ever be done. Life is good and there is so much of it left to experience.

[For the Daily Prompt]

© David J. Kent 2014

David J. Kent (David K) is the author of Tesla: The Wizard of Electricity and Nikola Tesla: Renewable Energy Ahead of Its Time.

