Tags

, ,

Abraham Lincoln bustSome days it seems like books own me, rather than the reverse. I have two libraries in the house, though this doesn’t mean that books don’t dominate nearly all other rooms in the house as well. Of course, this enumeration doesn’t include the libraries I’ve supplied with thousands of my outcasts over the decades. Abraham Lincoln books alone exceed one thousand volumes on my shelves. Remaining non-Lincoln books – I’ve been trying to clean house – still number in the many hundreds.

Add in the books just retrieved from my parents’ house as they begin the process of downsizing, and picking the next one to read has become an almost burdensome chore. Should I pull another Lincoln book off the shelf? Or perhaps a classic I never read (or want to reread)? Or that new novel everyone is raving about? The cacophony of choices is often overwhelming.

Ah, this one. Yes, definitely this one. I’m off to discover new lands to visit, new people to meet, new experiences to behold.

David J. Kent is a science traveler and the author of Lincoln: The Man Who Saved America, in Barnes and Noble stores now. His previous books include Tesla: The Wizard of Electricity (2013) and Edison: The Inventor of the Modern World (2016) and two e-books: Nikola Tesla: Renewable Energy Ahead of Its Time and Abraham Lincoln and Nikola Tesla: Connected by Fate.

Check out my Goodreads author page. While you’re at it, “Like” my Facebook author page for more updates!

 

